A Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day is a children’s book that follows the story of  Alexander, a five-year-old who trips on a skateboard when he’s getting out of bed one morning , and from there things only get worse for him. This book represents exactly how I would describe my day.

I know that I am not alone in this; I know that somewhere there is someone that has had a day just a crappy as mine.

So I will start at the beginning, I haven’t been feeling well all week, and it's likely that I am coming down with that lovely little virus that everyone around me keeps passing back and forth. You know the one, the virus that starts with you feeling just a little tired and worn down. Then BAM you wake up the next morning and your whole body aches, your head is throbbing, your throat feels like you are swallowing knives, and you cannot stop sneezing.

So, fighting through the sickness I drag myself from bed and get ready for my work day everything is going fine until I wake my 4 year old to get ready for preschool and realize that we had forgotten to do her homework from the night before. While I wouldn’t classify Michaela as the WORST morning person ever, she isn’t that pleasant some mornings. Today just so happens to be one of them. So, her homework is a one page sheet where she has to trace her name once then write it once on her own. All is going well until she is writing her name on her own, then in a majorly winey meltdown voice, “I can’t make the E, it’s too hard!” So I say to her “you have made the E many times before, you can make the E.”, and as we all know this then turns into a 10 minute meltdown that finally results in her making the E and finishing her work. However, we are now running behind for her to get to school and me to get to work.

The day goes on and I receive a letter from the IRS stating that they need me to re-send a form in order for them to process my tax return that I filed in January. Seriously, I am just now getting this letter. First off the IRS delayed accepting returns till the January 30th, and the returns were delayed further to February 15th for those filing with education credits. Now, a month after all the delays I am still being delayed because of an issue with the way the tax company I used transmitted my return. So I am starting to lose hope that we will ever see our 2012 tax return money.

Just when I think I am finally in the clear and can relax I hear “Mommy, I need some help”. While this string of words doesn’t always fill me with fear and dread, this time it did, the reason being that moments before this, My kid had gotten distracted playing and realized last minute that she needed to poop. So filled with dread I walk to the bathroom to find that she had not made it to the potty in time, ruining another pair of underwear. If you have ever had to deal with this experience you know that no matter how many times you wash your hands, you cannot get that smell off your skin.

It is days like these that make parenting and marriage and working all seem like a lot of work, and don’t get me wrong they are, you just have to take to good with the bad. Some days are great and everything goes right, your kids are in pleasant moods and you play games and snuggle before bed. It’s these bad days that make those good days seem so great!




Leave a Reply.

    Krista & Brandon

    The UN-extraordinary tales of a normal family working through the challenges of life one fruit punch at a time.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

    Follow on Bloglovin
    Follow on Bloglovin

    BLOG HOPS

    Dysfunction Junction
    Weekend Blog Hop
    a mom blog community!
    Click to set custom HTML
    Click to set custom HTML