This weekend my MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) group hosted an Easter egg hunt for the local children. We had a cake walk, popcorn, and of course the Easter Bunny! The event had a fairly nice turnout considering the cold weather; we had around 50 kids show up for the festivities.

Now, let me paint a picture for you… wide open field with 2000+ eggs scattered all about, amongst these are 2 golden prize eggs.  In preparation for the hunt I say to Michaela “there are 2 golden eggs out there and if you find one of those you will win a prize, but there are only 2 of them so you can’t be upset if you don’t find the lucky golden egg”. Now I understand that saying this to a 4 year old is really only wasting my breath because we all know that she is going to be upset if she isn’t the winner, that is just how kids this age are.

The kids were divided into three groups 0-2 year olds, 3-4 year olds and 5 and up, and everyone is lined up in their age divisions. I am with Jacoby in the 0-2 group and Brandon has Michaela in the 3-4 age group. Jacoby and I get to start first, and he does a great job picking up the eggs he finds and putting them in his bucket. As Jacoby and I are finishing up Michaela’s age group starts. I look up to watch her, and this is what I see, Michaela takes off running making a beeline for the back of the field skipping all the eggs. I look at Brandon and say “what is she doing?” we are both yelling to her “pick up the eggs!”, “Michaela what are you doing? Get the eggs”! Well she knew what she was doing and I can sum it up in 4 words… EYE ON THE PRIZE. Brandon and I make it to the back of the field just as she is placing the golden prize egg in her bucket, she looks up at us and nonchalantly says “I found the golden one”, then proceeds to pick up some of the other eggs scattered around her.

While I can totally relate to a girls love for all things gold, I am now slightly worried about my checkbook as Michaela continues to get older. I mean if she is able to spot one golden egg in a field of thousands of eggs, I shudder to think the damage she will be able to do in a mall.
2/1/2016 02:30:24 am

The idea for the holiday makes my heart leap. I was thinking about a game for our kids on Easter, but it's so hard to think of a good one. Every kid wants something interesting and astounding. They are waiting for some surprises from all of the moms. Thanks for the idea! I'll try to promote it at our organization.
Samantha

Reply
3/31/2016 09:48:09 am

There are many students who are having their eye on the prizes but they are not making too much work to get these. This is not the easy way to get the prizes as the man has to do the hard work in the current times if he wants to have the some sort of the prize.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Krista & Brandon

    The UN-extraordinary tales of a normal family working through the challenges of life one fruit punch at a time.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

    Follow on Bloglovin
    Follow on Bloglovin

    BLOG HOPS

    Dysfunction Junction
    Weekend Blog Hop
    a mom blog community!
    Click to set custom HTML
    Click to set custom HTML